Canadian Institue Of Planners

Shaping our Communities
Sustaining Canada's Future.

Awards for Planning Excellence



Awards-2021.pngAbout the Awards for Planning Excellence

The Canadian Institute of Planners’ Awards for Planning Excellence recognizes significant achievements in the field of professional planning. This program began in 1983 and has grown to include thirteen award categories. A jury of planning professionals from the public and private sector, representing every region, evaluate submissions against strict criteria. 

The awards program celebrates submissions that demonstrate innovation in planning, have a positive impact on the profession, have good implementation potential and stand out in quality of content and presentation. The submissions should clearly and effectively communicate the plan’s process and results to members of the planning profession, related professions, and the public.


Submissions must be entered under ONE of the following categories.

  • City and Regional Planning

  • Climate Change and Natural Systems Planning

  • Healthy Communities

  • Inclusionary Planning

  • New and Emerging Planning Initiatives

  • Planning Practice

  • Planning Publications and Media

  • Planning For Reconciliation

  • Rural / Small Town Planning

  • Sustainable Mobility, Transportation, and Infrastructure

  • Urban Design

The Jury will only review a project under the category criteria in which it has been submitted. The submitter is responsible for ensuring that their project is submitted under the most appropriate category for the project. 

International projects are eligible to apply; however, submissions must clearly explain/describe the role of the Canadian planner or firm on the international project.

Download the Award Guidelines here.


Deadline for nominations is Friday, February 18, 2022 at 11:59 PM Eastern Standard Time.