History of CIP

The history of the Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP) begins with the organization of the Town Planning Institute of Canada (TPIC) in 1919. On May 31 that year, 18 founding members held an inaugural meeting of the Institute at Ottawa’s Chateau Laurier Hotel, where Thomas Adams was elected as the first President. Adams was the pre-eminent planner of the time, and had been the first president of the Town Planning Institute in the United Kingdom (now the Royal Town Planning Institute). A federal charter (letters patent) for the TPIC was granted on October 23, 1923.

The primary focus of the TPIC was to promote the new discipline of planning to a young Dominion experiencing reckless post-war growth. The bi-monthly Town Planning Journal was established in 1920, under the editorship of Alfred Buckley, to record the stirring speeches and publish exemplary plans that would inspire civic leaders to engage in planning at a time when there was little statutory requirement to do so.

Adams and his Canadian colleagues also had to organize a professional body from scratch. Individuals who had some knowledge of planning and who were members of related professions such as engineering, surveying and architecture were welcome. Membership in the Institute grew rapidly throughout the 1920s — to 130 members by 1922, and 367 members by 1930.

During the Depression, when no growth meant no planning, the Department of the Interior was forced to withdraw its financial support for the journal (in 1932), and the Institute suspended operations. The TPIC charter was maintained and renewed annually by the secretary, John Kitchen.

It took another post-war boom and the support of the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation to create sufficient demand for planning to allow the Town Planning Institute of Canada to be revived in 1952, under President A. Cousineau, and with a membership that of now only 60 people.  At that time, many Canadian planners did not have formal training, and most qualified planners were foreign-trained.  In 1953, the Institute granted formal recognition to planning education programs at McGill University, University of Toronto, University of Manitoba, and University of British Columbia.  Membership grew quickly, to about 500 members by 1960, then up to 800 by 1970. The journal resumed publishing in 1959, with the bilingual title: “Plan Canada”.

Throughout the ‘50s and ‘60s, the Institute was run entirely by volunteers with Hugh Lemon as secretary coordinating from Toronto. The National Council's energy was absorbed in establishing a solid organization and raising membership standards. Local city-based chapters of the Institute sprung up and evolved into regional or provincial chapters. Quebec was the first province to recognize the planning profession in reserved title legislation as the Corporation des urbanistes du Québec in 1963 (now the Ordre des urbanistes du Québec).

The early 1970s was a time of significant organizational change. A national office with staff was established in Ottawa in 1970.  A federated national/chapter structure was formalized with new by-laws in 1972-73. And, with the rise of regional and other forms of planning, the organization’s name was officially amended in its charter to the Canadian Institute of Planners in 1974. Membership tripled to 2, 400 by 1980, and several more university degrees were recognized during the decade.

From the mid-1980s onward, the Institute moved forward on consolidating a federated structure and expanding into broader areas of professional operations. In 1986, the by-laws were revised, with the Affiliates (formerly “chapters”) being recognized as equal partners.  They assumed the majority of direct membership services, allowing the national institute and its office to function with only two staff.  This was also the year the Ontario Professional Planners Institute was formed, from the amalgamation of four separate Ontario chapters.

In 1992, responsibility for CIP’s journal, Plan Canada, was transferred to a professional publisher. Around the same time, the position of Secretary evolved into an Executive Director function, initially filled by a CIP member and, by 1993, a professional association executive. As time went on, national office staff began to grow and increase its French-language service capability, as CIP continued to evolve and enhance its programs, products, services and activities.

Through the 1990s CIP continued to evolve and better define its role in context with that of the Affiliates. Together, CIP and the Affiliates built the foundations of a federated partnership. Since the year 2000, CIP has vastly formalized agreements with the Affiliates, further defining how this federation should work. CIP continued to expand its outreach through national and international initiatives.

Reciprocity with the American Planning Association, the Royal Town Planning Institute in the United Kingdom, and the Planning Institute of Australia, has enabled planners to carry their planning experience to other countries. And relations with these institutes and others led to the formation, in 2006, of the Global Planners Network.

Today, CIP has over 7, 500 members across Canada and some from many different regions of the world. The Institute recognizes 28 university planning programs — 9 undergraduate and 19 graduate programs. CIP is now engaged in professional activities throughout Canada and internationally, with a growing strategic focus on topics that will advance planning practice or that impact the profession.

general@cip-icu.ca 1-800-207-2138
613-237-PLAN (7526)

Historique de l’Institut canadien des urbanistes

L’histoire de l'Institut d'urbanisme du Canada (IUC), organisme précurseur de l’Institut canadien des urbanistes, débute en 1919. L'assemblée inaugurale de l’IUC a eu lieu au Château Laurier à Ottawa, le 31 mai 1919. II y avait 18 membres fondateurs et Thomas Adams, l'éminent urbaniste de l'époque (il avait été le premier président du Town Planning Institute au Royaume-Uni, maintenant le RTPI) fut élu président. L'Institut obtenait une charte fédérale et ses lettres patentes le 23 octobre 1923.

Le but premier de l'IUC était de promouvoir la nouvelle discipline de l'urbanisme dans un jeune pays caractérisé par une croissance désordonnée dans la période de l'après-guerre. Le Town Planning, une publication bimestrielle, a été mis sur pied en 1920 sous la direction éditoriale d'Alfred Buckley, et on y publiait des discours émouvants et des plans exemplaires qui devaient inspirer les dirigeants municipaux à s'engager dans l'urbanisme à un moment où il n'existait à peu près pas de cadre légal régissant cette nouvelle discipline.

M. Adams et ses collègues canadiens devaient mettre sur pied une association professionnelle à partir de zéro. Ils ont d'abord cherché à recruter des gens qui avaient une certaine connaissance de l'urbanisme et des membres de professions connexes, tels qu'ingénieurs, arpenteurs et architectes. L'effectif de l'Institut a augmenté rapidement au cours des années 1920 : 130 membres en 1922 et 367 en 1930.

Malheureusement, pendant la crise économique, l'absence de croissance mit fin à toute activité urbanistique. Le ministère de l'Intérieur dut retirer son aide financière à la revue en 1932, et l'Institut mit ses activités en suspens. La charte de l'Institut fut toutefois renouvelée annuellement par le secrétaire, M. John Kitchen.

II fallut une autre période de forte croissance d'après-guerre et l'appui de la Société centrale d'hypothèques et de logement pour créer une demande suffisante et permettre à l'Institut d'urbanisme du Canada de reprendre vie en 1952 sous la présidence de M. A Cousineau, avec un effectif d'environ 60 membres. À cette époque, beaucoup d'urbanistes canadiens n'avaient pas de formation officielle et la plupart des urbanistes qualifiés étaient formés à l'étranger. En 1953, l'Institut a reconnu officiellement l'enseignement de l'urbanisme aux universités McGill, de Toronto, du Manitoba et de la Colombie-Britannique. L'effectif augmenta rapidement: environ 500 membres en 1960 et 800 en 1970. La revue reprit sa publication en 1959 sous le titre bilingue Plan Canada.

Au cours des années cinquante et soixante, l'Institut fut administré entièrement par des bénévoles. Hugh Lemon en était le secrétaire et il coordonnait les activités à partir de Toronto. Le Conseil national consacrait ses énergies à l'établissement d'un organisme solide et à l'amélioration des normes d'adhésion. Des sections locales de l'Institut virent le jour dans diverses villes et devinrent plus tard des sections régionales ou provinciales. Le Québec fut la première province à reconnaitre légalement la profession d'urbaniste en créant la Corporation des urbanistes du Québec en 1963 (aujourd'hui l’Ordre des urbanistes du Québec).

Le début des années soixante-dix a correspondu à une période de restructuration majeure. En 1970, on a établi un Bureau national à Ottawa. La structure fédérative regroupant le Bureau national et les sections affiliées devient officielle avec l'adoption d'un nouveau règlement administratif en 1972/73. L'Institut a changé de nom en 1974 pour devenir l'Institut canadien des urbanistes. L'effectif a triplé pour atteindre 2 400 membres en 1980, et beaucoup d'autres diplômes universitaires ont été reconnus au cours de cette décennie.

La période allant du milieu des années quatre-vingt à aujourd'hui a donné lieu à un renforcement de la structure fédérative de l'Institut et un élargissement de la sphère d’activité de l’Institut. En 1986, le Règlement fut modifié et les associations affiliées (auparavant les sections) furent reconnues à titre de partenaires égaux. Celles-ci assumaient la majorité des services directs aux membres, permettant au Bureau national de fonctionner avec seulement deux employés. La même année, l'Institut des urbanistes professionnels de l'Ontario fut formé à la suite de la fusion des quatre sections de l'Ontario.

En 1992, on fit appel à une journaliste professionnelle pour assumer les fonctions de rédactrice en chef de Plan Canada. Le poste de secrétaire devint celui de directeur général; d'abord occupé par un membre, il fut confié, en 1993, à une administratrice professionnelle. Aujourd’hui, la direction du Bureau national continue d’accroitre l’efficience des services administratifs, sa capacité de servir ses membres d’expression française et l’éventail de programmes, de produits, de services et d’activités de l’ICU.

Tout au long des années 1990, l’ICU a continué d’évoluer et de préciser son rôle quant aux rapports avec les organismes affiliés. Ensemble, l’ICU et les Affiliés ont établi les fondements d’un partenariat de fédération. Depuis 2000, l’Institut s’est affairé à conclure des accords de partenariat avec les Affiliés afin de préciser les modalités de fonctionnement de la fédération. Par ailleurs, l’ICU continue d’élargir la portée de son rayonnement par le biais d’initiatives nationales et internationales.

De récents accords de réciprocité conclus avec l’American Planning Association, la Royal Town Planning Institute au Royaume-Uni et le Planning Institute of Australia, offre aux membres de l’ICU de nouvelles possibilités d’acquérir de l’expérience à l’échelle internationale. De plus, le renforcement des liens avec ses organismes a donné lieu à la création du Réseau mondial des urbanistes (Global Planners Network) en 2006.

Aujourd’hui, l’ICU compte plus de 7 500 membres dans toutes les régions du Canada et de nombreux autres pays. L’Institut reconnait 28 programmes d’enseignement universitaire en urbanisme, dont 9 programmes du premier cycle et 19 programmes d’études supérieures. L’ICU est désormais beaucoup plus présent et visible au Canada et à l’étranger, et porte de plus en plus son attention aux dossiers de grande importance stratégique pour la profession et la pratique urbanistique.

general@cip-icu.ca 1-800-207-2138
613-237-PLAN (7526)