Canadian Institue Of Planners

Shaping our Communities
Sustaining Canada's Future.

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Scholarships & Bursaries

Each year, the CIP/ICU Planning Student Trust Fund (CIP-PSTF) offers scholarships and bursaries to CIP student members who are enrolled full-time in accredited Canadian planning programs. This financial support assists students by defraying the costs incurred in their studies.



Students must submit an outline of a project (e.g. thesis, practicum, major research paper, etc.) that has been proposed or is in progress, and that has a target completion date within the current school year. A project will be judged on the basis of its potential contribution to the planning profession (in theory or practice), or its potential service to a community or community group. Scholarship recipients must agree to submit a copy of their project to CIP-PSTF upon completion and must consent to having the work published in whole or in part by CIP-PSTF and/or CIP.

Scholarship Amount Level of Study Project theme Submissions
CIP President’s Scholarship $6,000.00 Bachelor’s, Master’s, or PhD Not specified
Deadline: February 28, 2019
Dillon Consulting Limited Scholarship $5,000.00 Master’s or PhD Not specified
Deadline: February 28, 2019
CIP Centenary Student Award

(or more)

Bachelor’s, Master’s, or PhD Multi-media project about planning’s past and future
Deadline: March 29, 2019
College of Fellows Travel Scholarship $4,000.00 Bachelor’s (final year) Travel to study innovative, leading-edge planning projects
Deadline: February 28, 2019
Thomas Adams Scholarship $3,000.00 Bachelor’s, Master’s, or PhD Not specified
Deadline: February 28, 2019
Wayne Daniel Smith Scholarship $2,500.00 Bachelor’s, Master’s, or PhD
community planning
Deadline: February 28, 2019


While specific projects are not requirements for submissions, applicants must demonstrate their need for financial assistance to support their education, as evidenced by government student loan documents or equivalent justification. Members of an equity-seeking group (women, individuals who are members of visible minorities, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and individuals of non-heterosexual orientation or gender identity) are asked to self-identify.

Bursary Amount Level of Study Area of study Submissions
David Palubeski Bursary $3,000.00

For 2019: Master’s
(For 2020: Bachelor’s)

Small and medium sized communities Apply Now
Deadline: February 28, 2019
Ted Fobert and Robert Tennant Planning Merit Bursary $3,000.00 Master’s or PhD
Community building
and municipal planning
Apply Now
Deadline: February 28, 2019
John Bousfield Bursary $3,000.00 Bachelor’s, Master’s, or PhD Innovation in urban
design/land use planning
Apply Now
Deadline: February 28, 2019
Donate Now Through!

List of Recent Recipients

CIP President’s Scholarship

2018 - Emily Halldorson, University of Manitoba, "Transitional Housing for Criminalized Indigenous Women: Justice and Reconciliation in Planning"
2017 - Kai Okazaki, University of British Columbia, "Addressing Barriers to Inclusive Climate Action: Planning for Immigrants in Metro Vancouver"
2016 - Chloe Boyle, Simon Fraser University, "An Evaluation of the social and ecological benefits of an urban stream restoration project"
2015 - Abdoul-Kader Mahamadou, Université de Laval, "L'influence de l'environnement bâti et du transport sur l'interaction sociale des enfants à Québec"
2014 - Kara Fisher, McGill University, “Cycling Through Winter: Exploring innovative design principles and practices to support all season bicycle commuting for Winnipeg and Winter Cities worldwide”

Dillon Consulting Scholarship

2018 - Waverley Sunday Birch, University of Waterloo, "Effects of Land Use and Land Cover Change on Ecosystem Functionality"
2017 - Zoë Mager, York University, "Planning with Indigenous Peoples: Meaningful Municipal Consultation and Engagement as a Key Part of Reconciliation"
2016 - Tyler Carlson, Simon Fraser University, "Formulating Forest Policies with the ‘Namgis Nation: Lessons from First Nations land use planning across British Columbia"
2015 - Ryan Segal, University of Manitoba, "Playfinding: Child-Friendly Wayfinding as a Tool for Children's Independent Mobility in Downtown Winnipeg"
2014 - Kyle Miller, University of Toronto, “The First Evaluation of Toronto's Church Street Parklets”

Wayne Daniel Smith Scholarship

2018 - Edward Donato, University of Waterloo, "Electric Bicycle Mobility of Older Adults in Canadian Cities"
2017 - Zoi de la Peña, York University, "Planning Equitable Public Parks"
2016 - Jeff Lemon, Simon Fraser University, "Land-based Aquaculture: A Strategic Opportunity for Social Entrepreneurship & Sustainable Community Development"
2015 - Jake Papineau, Dalhousie University, "Assessing sustainable building technologies from a First Nations perspective"
2014 - Sarah Nielsen, Queen's University, “Get Moving to School: Comparing influences on the potential for active school travel in a large urban centre in Western Canada"

College of Fellows Travel Scholarship

2018 - Ellen McGowan, University of Waterloo, "Designing for Security"
2017 - Kara Martin, Dalhousie University, "Cycling urban design and implementation"
2016 - Scott Bordon, Dalhousie University, "Multi-modalism in Vancouver"
2015 - Heidi Hindrichs, Dalhousie University, "A Study of Water Planning in the Netherlands"
2014 - Riannon McVay, Dalhousie University 

Thomas Adams Scholarship

2018 - Sarah Lumley, Queen's University, "Bridging the Gap Between Disaster/Emergency Management and Urban Planning in Vancouver Island Communities"
2017 - Robert Catherall, University of British Columbia, "Planning for the Innovation Economy in Vancouver: Lessons from Seattle and San Francisco"
2016 - Emily Gray, University of British Columbia, "Finding Safer Places: Building Natural Disaster Resilience through Open Spaces"
2015 - Anthony Dionigi, York University, "Achieving equity in public transit planning: A critical assessment of Markham, Ontario's VivaNext Rapidway"
2014 - Will Gregory, Dalhousie University, “Who Lives Downtown? Tracking demographic change in downtown Halifax, 1951-2011”

David Palubeski Bursary

2018 - Hayley N. Wasylycia, University of Alberta